Colorado State University
  • Home
  • About
  • Audits
  • Funding Opportunities
  • Outreach
  • Research
  • Resources
  • Sponsors
  • Contact

Center for Agricultural Energy

About

The Center for Agricultural Energy is a joint effort between Colorado State University Extension and the College of Engineering. Our Advisory Board is representative of the government agencies, non-profits, and utilities serving rural Colorado as well as the producers receiving those services.


The CAE Advisory Board is composed of representatives from the following organizations:

  • Rocky Mountain Farmer’s Union
  • Colorado Livestock Association
  • Colorado Energy Office
  • Colorado Department of Agriculture
  • USDA – Rural Development
  • USDA – Natural Resources Conservation Service
  • Tri-State Generation and Transmission
  • Xcel
  • Black Hills
  • Three Producers At-Large
  • Extension Agent At-Large
  • Water Representative

The function of the Board is to:

  • provide informational updates to the Center Co-Directors on items of relevance to agricultural energy at those meetings;
  • provide direction to the Center Co-Directors in pursuance of Center goals;
  • identify potential funding sources in support of the work of the Center; and
  • raise the visibility of the Center as appropriate.

The following Colorado State University faculty contribute to the work of the CAE:

Name Title Area(s) of Focus Email
Mike Kostrzewa CAE Co-Director and Senior Research Associate, Mechanical Engineering Agricultural Energy Audits Michael.kostrzewa@colostate.edu
Cary Weiner CAE Co-Director and Energy Specialist, Extension Outreach Cary.weiner@colostate.edu
Dr. Abdel Berrada Research Scientist, Soil and Crop Sciences Oilseed crops for biofuels Abdel.berrada@colostate.edu
Dr. Perry Cabot Water Resources Specialist (Southern Region) Irrigation efficiency, oilseed crops for biofuels Perry.cabot@colostate.edu
John Deering Agricultural Economist (Northern Region) Farm equipment, biofuels economics John.deering@colostate.edu
Dr. Courtney Jahn Assistant Professor, Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management Sorghum for biofuels Courtney.jahn@colostate.edu
Dr. Jerry Johnson Assistant Professor, Soil and Crop Sciences Oilseed crops for biofuels Jerry.johnson@colostate.edu
Dennis Kaan Golden Plains Extension Area Director Agricultural economics Dennis.kaan@colostate.edu
Ron Meyer Agronomist and Extension Agent (Kit Carson) Oilseed crops for biofuels Rf.meyer@colostate.edu
Joel Schneekloth Water Resource Specialist (Northern Region) Irrigation efficiency Joel.schneekloth@colostate.edu
Dr. Sybil Sharvelle Assistant Professor, Civil Engineering Anaerobic digestion Sybil.sharvelle@colostate.edu
Dan Zimmerle Senior Research Associate, Mechanical Engineering Small hydropower, distributed and renewable energy systems and microgrids Dan.zimmerle@colostate.edu

Updated Wednesday, January 08, 2014

CSU Extension Energy | CSU Homepage | Disclaimer | Equal Opportunity | Privacy Policy | Search CSU | Webmaster

Partners | Non-Discrimination Statement | ©2014 Colorado State University Extension